The History Of Babies

The history of babies
I wish this existed

I studied history as far as GCSE although I never liked the subject. It always seemed dry, boring, and irrelevant. Maybe that’s because it was about things that Important Men do, who let’s face it are only considered interesting because they insisted on messing up everyone else’s lives – unless you are an Important Man in which case I suppose you would genuinely find it interesting as a role model or something. (It didn’t help that when, for the first time in my life, I actually put some work in to a coursework project, I got a D, whereas when I messed about and made no effort I generally got B’s with the occasional A. I still wonder what I did wrong.)

If they had taught us the history of pregnancy, childbirth, breastfeeding and children, I might have taken more of an interest.

The only education on such things I can remember was an ‘RE’ lesson where a pickled aborted foetus (from a car crash) was passed around for us to wonder at. I’m not sure what that was about as I don’t remember any clarifying discussion, just a sort of weird creepy feeling like when you see pictures of starving children in a poor country on facebook. Kind of horrible, but remote, and you can’t do anything about it.

Come to think of it, that’s quite a good description of the History we studied too. But it’s really not very useful preparation for what was likely to actually happen in our actual lives unless you count ‘recognising a creepy feeling you get while looking at pictures on facebook’ as an important life skill.

Leave a Reply

